Laughing and crying

A. Complete the crossword.

  1. Harry isn’t very good at volleyball, but he’s really enthusiastic. He puts a lot of energy into it.
  2. Jack is quite confident now, but he used to be really shy and didn’t like meeting new people.
  3. You look ridiculous with that hat on. Take it off!
  4. I didn’t have enough money to pay for the meal! It was really embarrassing.
  5. My younger brother can be really naughty and he often gets into trouble.
  6. I’m trying to work, and that loud music is beginning to annoy me!
  7. The Petersons moved house because living on a main road was very noisy.
  8. You gave Jane a dozen roses on her birthday? Oh, that’s so romantic.
  9. Ben is really serious and I don’t think he has a sense of humor.
  10. It was very rude of Nicky not to thank you for her present.
  11. I passed my exam! Let’s go out and celebrate.

B. Match to make dialogues.

  1. ‘Alice seems a bit depressed.’
    ‘Maybe she’s had some bad news.’ (D)
  2. ‘Mary is very polite.’
    ‘Yes, she always says ‘thank you’.’ (G)
  3. ‘Diane seems like a calm person.’
    ‘Oh, yes. Nothing ever upsets her.’ (A)
  4. ‘Gemma seems a bit bad-tempered today.’
    ‘Yes. She’s definitely angry about something.’ (F)
  5. ‘Megan is amusing.’
    ‘I know. She always makes me laugh. (B)
  6. ‘Janice looks glad about something.’
    ‘I think it’s because she’s won some money.’ (E)
  7. ‘Nina was hurt by what you said.’
    ‘Well, maybe I should apologise, then.’ (C)

C. Circle the correct word.

  1. My grandfather had a very strong character and everyone respected him.
  2. Have you noticed that Caroline has started to behave a bit strange recently?
  3. Dad has been under a lot of stress at work, so try not to annoy him.
  4. Whenever I try to tell a joke, I can never remember it!
  5. My attitude towards life is that you should enjoy yourself and not worry too much about the future.
  6. After three weeks of rain and wintry weather, we were all starting to feel a bit miserable.

D. Complete using a phrasal verb in the correct form to replace the words in bold.

  1. You’ll have to speak up. I can’t hear what you’re saying.
  2. Let’s try to cheer Jimmy up by having a surprise party!
  3. Could you please tell the children to shut up? I’m trying to sleep!
  4. If you’re upset, try taking long, deep breaths to calm down.
  5. Roger first ran away from home when he was only thirteen years old.
  6. After drying her eyes, Molly went on telling us why she was so unhappy.
  7. And then the man said … oh, hang on a second! I’ve forgotten the ending to the joke!
  8. Come on and get ready or we’re going to be late.

E. Complete using the phrases in the box.

  1. We moved to a new town and I like it here a lot, but at times I miss my old friends.
  2. Kate found Peter in tears and asked him what was wrong.
  3. I didn’t like Ted at first, but after a while I realised that he was a really nice person.
  4. Rob and Christine’s parents didn’t approve of their relationship, so they had to meet in secret.
  5. I’ve told that joke at least ten times and everyone always laughs at it!
  6. Alfie seemed quite happy, in spite of failing the exam.

F. Use the word given in capitals at the end of each line to form a word that fits in the gap in the same line.

During the First World War, at a time when there was lots of hatred in the world, one man did more than anyone else to spread happiness. That man was the comedian, Charlie Chaplin. Audiences around the world watched his films and each new one caused a lot of excitement. Chaplin created character of the little tramp and people sympathised with this poor man. Up until then, film comedies had been noisy and very fast. Although they were fun and energetic, the audiences became bored with seeing the same situations. Chaplin produced different kind of comedy. It was slower and more emotional. His films both made people laugh and touched their feelings. Even today, his films are enjoyed by many people of all ages.

G. Write one word in each gap.

Hans: Hello?
Sam: Hans? It’s Sam.
Hans: Oh, hi, Sam! How are you?
Sam: I was thinking about the exam next week. I’m a bit nervous about it, to be honest.
Hans: So am I. But you? I’m surprised by that. I thought you studied a lot.
Sam: I do. But my parents put so much pressure on me that I’m scared of failing.
Hans: I don’t think you should be frightened of failure. Just you wait. In a month’s time, I’ll be congratulating you on passing with flying colors!
Sam: I guess you’re right. I’m sure I’ll look back and laugh at myself. Anyway, what have you been doing today?
Hans: Me? Oh, you know, a bit of revision …

H. Each of the words in bold is wrong. Write the correct word.

  1. Look at Jenny! She’s either happy from her exam results, or she’s won the lottery! with
  2. Jodie and Marshall are splitting up because they’re tired from arguing so much. of
  3. There’s no need to be embarrassed in crying. Everyone does it. about
  4. Kathy was ashamed with herself for stealing the money. of
  5. Debbie is sorry on what we said to you, and so am I. for
  6. Have you heard the joke for the man with a frog on his hand? about
Այս նյութը հրատարակվել է English Exercises-ում։ Էջանշեք մշտական հղումը։

Թողնել մեկնաբանություն