Verbs that are often confused

a. Look at some more words that are often confused. For each pair, complete the sentences with the correct word.

  1. The hotel upgraded us and gave us a suite instead of a double room.
    You should definitely wear a suit to the interview — you’ll make a better impression.
  2. Let’s not go out tonight. I’m tired and besides I want to read.
    They live in that new block of flats beside the school.
  3. Please lie down and relax. This will only take a minute.
    If you lay her on the sofa gently, I’m sure she won’t woke up.
  4. The rate of inflation has gone up since last month; it’s currently 2%.
    I thought I wouldn’t enjoy the film, but actually it was very funny.
  5. It is rumored that the Royal Family will announce the prince’s engagement this week.
    The company is planning to advertise the new product both on TV and online.
  6. How does the crisis affect you?
    What is the main effect of the crisis?
  7. As soon as the man from the garage arrived, the car started! I was so embarrassed.
    When the manager of the shop told my father I had stolen some sweets, I felt so ashamed.
  8. The accused does not deny being in the house, but he insists that he did not touch anything.
    I love parties. I never refuse an invitation.
  9. I know we will never agree about what to do, but we should try to reach a compromise.
    The company’s commitment to providing quality at a reasonable price has been crucial to its success.
  10. I think we should but the Toyota. It’s nicer looking, and it’s much more economical.
    I don’t agree with the government’s economic policy.
Այս նյութը հրատարակվել է Անգլերեն-ում։ Էջանշեք մշտական հղումը։

Թողնել մեկնաբանություն