Wish

A. Complete using the correct form of the verbs in brackets.

  1. I wish I had a million euros! I’d buy lots of great things.
  2. I wish we lived in a bigger house. This one is too small.
  3. Becca wishes she was old enough to drive a car.
  4. Do you wish you felt more confident about the exam tomorrow.
  5. I wish my computer wasn’t. I can’t check my email.
  6. I wish I didn’t like chocolate so much! I eat three bars a day!
  7. Grant wishes he didn’t make so many mistakes all the time.
  8. Look what they’re wearing! I bet they wish they didn’t look so silly!

B. Complete using the correct form of the verbs in the box. You may have to use some negative forms.

  1. I wish I lived in the countryside. The city is so noisy!
  2. Tracy has got curly hair but she often wishes she had straight hair.
  3. I wish our teachers would give us less homework every day, but there’s nothing I can do about it.
  4. I wish I didn’t feel so scared, but I do!
  5. Do you wish you wore contact lenses or are you happy with glasses?
  6. Jake’s mum wishes he didn’t spend so much money on clothes whenever he goes shopping?

C. Look at the pictures and complete the sentences.

  1. I wish I had won.
  2. I wish had listened to my mother.
  3. I wish we had brought a camera with us.
  4. I wish I had studied a bit harder for this test.
  5. I wish I hadn’t made so many phone calls last month!
  6. I wish he hadn’t chosen me!

D. The words in bold in each sentence are wrong. Write the correct word or phrase.

  1. I wish I can speak German, but I never learnt it at school. could
  2. I wish you will put your toys away! It’s not difficult! would
  3. Do you sometimes wish you can fly. could
  4. I wish you won’t lie to me all the time! wouldn’t
  5. I wish my neighbours won’t make so much noise. wouldn’t
  6. If only she will ask me to go to the disco with her! would
  7. If only you can come with us! could

E. Choose the correct answer.

  1. I wish I had an MP3 player.
  2. We all wish Tim would help with the housework.
  3. I wish I had remembered to buy a lottery ticket last night.
  4. I wish you didn’t live so far away.
  5. I wish they wouldn’t keep changing the time of this programme.
  6. Do you wish you hadn’t offered to help Michael in the shop last weekend?

F. Circle the correct word or phrase.

I wish today had never happened! If only I could start the day again. I’d do everything differently. Why did I forget to set the alarm last night? I really wish I hadn’t done that! I also wish I lived nearer the Earth. It takes such a long time to get there from Mars — especially when the traffic is bad. If only I had a faster spaceship. Anyway, the point is, I was late for my job interview. The first question they asked was why I wanted to be an Environmental Officer on the moon. Do you know what I said? Because I really wanted to look at the aliens in the Super Alien Zoo. Oh I wish I hadn’t said that. Why am I so stupid? I wish now that I’d never applied for the job in the first place. I’m sure I won’t get the job I just hope tomorrow is better than today was.

Այս նյութը հրատարակվել է English Exercises-ում։ Էջանշեք մշտական հղումը։

Թողնել մեկնաբանություն